1.Topics‎ > ‎Dot.Net‎ > ‎A.Framework Fundamentals‎ > ‎

Z.Dot Net Framework FAQ


What are the GAC Related Changes in Dot.Net 4.0

    1. There are now 2 distinct GAC locations that you have to manage as of the .NET 4 Framework release.
    2. The GAC was split into two, one for each CLR (2.0, 3.5 AND 4.0). The CLR version used for both .NET Framework 2.0 and .NET Framework 3.5 is CLR 2.0. To avoid issues between CLR 2.0 and CLR 4.0 , the GAC is now split into private GAC’s for each runtime. 
    3. The main change is that CLR v2.0 applications now cannot see CLR v4.0 assemblies in the GAC
    4. http://blogs.msdn.com/b/mjeelani/archive/2010/06/07/top-2-things-you-should-know-about-the-global-assembly-cache-gac-in-net-4-0.aspx
    5. http://www.devcurry.com/2010/06/net-40-has-2-global-assembly-cache-gac.html

What is the location of GAC 

GAC 4.0 is located at "c:\<windows folder>\Microsoft.NET\assembly'" and GAC 2.0 is located at "c:\<windows folder>\assembly'"

    Exception Handling
    Structured Vs Vectored Exception Handling